Issues with new sensors on guardian sensor

Hey guys, I’ve been having a lot of issues with new sensors. I’m using the Medtronic Guardian sensor. I’m new to CGMs so please feel free to point out the obvious. I’ve used a pump for over 10 years, but this is a new ball game to me.

The problem I’ve been having is that I’ll connect the receiver to the pump, hook up the new sensor to the receiver, then my pump will say that it’s doing the warm up process and it will take up to two hours. Within that two hour period it tells me that the sensor has expired and to insert a new sensor. I’ve checked the sensor and it says the sites are still good.

How can the new site be “expired” if it’s brand new? Is there something missing here?

Thus far to fix the problem I put the receiver back on the charger, pull it off the charger when finished charging, reconnect it to the pump and then reconnect the receiver to the still new, freshly inserted site. I have had to do this two or three times which takes up to five hours of waiting time. I feel like I’m either missing something in the process, I’ve got potentially bad hardware, or this is big joke for how expensive these units cost. Any tips or ideas would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

Have you tried calling Medtronic support?

1 Like

I second this. If nothing else, they can replace whatever turns out to be not working.

1 Like

You keep writing “receiver”. I think you mean transmitter

1 Like
1 Like

You are correct. Thanks for the clarification.

Thanks for everyone’s help. I was able to call support and get through this time. I made a very foolish mistake. The problem was when I would go to setup a new site I was selecting “reconnect sensor” instead of “start a new sensor”. I had misunderstood the sensor to be the transmitter. Mistakenly, this led me to believe I should be selecting reconnect sensor because the transmitter is kept longer term.