Itching and marks at infusion site - Orbit Micros

My daughter is using Orbit Micros, and she loves them. Loves the ease of insertion, loves that the cannulas are steel so they never kink, love that there's not a lot of packaging. What she does not love is that she itches like crazy after she pulls off the site, and sometimes she starts itching before. What I don't love is that I can count where she's had her last 4 insertions (at least). Shouldn't those marks go away more quickly?

We didn't have these problems when we used Insets from Animas, although we had other problems, and that's why we switched. Anyone have any advice or input? Thanks.

I don’t have any itchiness from the Orbit Micros but I do get it from the Dexcom adhesive. I also get the little holes from the needle. I am fairly new to pumping (end of June) so I don’t have any idea how long they should last. I counted and have 3 that I can see. I will be curious what others say about that. I am on my last Orbit Micro and have to switch back to Contact Detach when I do a site change this afternoon – I am dreading that because they left bigger holes plus bruising.

I started using the Orbit Micros after quite a string of ridiculous problems with Insets, too. They are wonderful. However, I have noticed the marks sticking around for what seems like a long time. I can’t be sure if they are visible longer than the ones from when I used Insets, but I can see more spots than I would like. No other sites (including Orbit’s Teflon ones) have worked for me, so I’m sticking with the Micros.

I am quite sensitive, but haven’t had much of a problem with itching with these. I change the site every 2-3 days, and do often notice itching towards the third day. This seems to be more right at the insertion site than under the adhesive for me. Sometimes I’ve noticed a tiny bit of blood surrounding the steel cannula once I remove it on these occasions, so I attribute it to leaving the site in too long causing irritation.