Just signed up for the Eco-Pod disposal program

It’s going to cost me $29 to get rid of the 100+ used pods that I have accumulated, but I guess it’s worth it. I just can’t see throwing them in the trash. For those interested, here’s the link: http://www.myomnipod.com/customer-care/pod-disposal-program/

When I signed up for the disposal system, they told me that they would ship my disposal package (for $8.00) with my next shipment of Pods. I told the rep that by then I would have over 30 used Pods, and since I am new to OmniPod, I would like to never have to dispose of one of them the traditional landfill way. He then informed me that I could get my first disposal kit immediately, but it would “cost me money.” When I asked how much, I was told that I could get a complete kit that would dispose of approximately 50 Pods for $13 (which I gladly had deducted from my charge card). Now I understand that if you have over 100 used Pods, you would need two kits, but the last time I checked, 13 + 13 = 26, not $29 dollars. Where did the extra charge come in?

I had my disposal kit within a week, so I was not unhappy with their response. I started a discussion a while back because when you get the kit, it has directions on the red bag which are contrary to the directions Insulet sends. Insulet has since told us all that they have worked out a deal with FedEx who will accept the Pods that are sent in according to Insulet’s directions.

To answer Lee’s question, the correct disposal of the batteries is probably the most important part, but the electronics and the plastics --which can be used again-- are also of concern. For the little bit it costs to recycle a month’s worth of Pods, I would rather have someone who knows what they are doing and has proper channels to recycle all of the components handle my used Pods.