Keeping things dry in a mud run and other questions

hello, I (foolishly, I think) signed up to do a mud run at the end of august. I have never done one before and that's why I say foolishly-don't know what im getting myself into! it is five kilometres with like 15 or twenty obstacles (mud pit, going under barbed wire, climb over a wall, tires)

of course I am worried about being high from nerves, though that's never happened to me before. im more worried about going low and so I want to carry my meter and stuff with me. in these mud runs, there are apparently mud pits and its really, well, muddy. I love the whole getting dirty and muddy but how will I keep this stuff still working? should I just leave it with my spectator? but then I don't have it. put it in a zip lock bag in some kind of fanny pack/bum bag? that seems like very little protection after looking at finishers covered from head to toe in mud. I would really like to have it with me. and some glucose tabs.

I don't think I will run the race carrying insulin, as I would never shoot up during exercise-correctin a 200 often brings me into the 90s and that's sitting still. I will have my spectator hold onto it and if im high after the race I will correct. also, if im high right after the race, should I wait like an hour and see if it comes down itself or should I just correct immediately?

Funny my husband just completed a Mud Hero course today. I opted out of it, not because of diabetes, it just didn't interest me...at all! :)
We talked about how I would have done it if I had joined my husband. He said no way could I have worn the pump, and risk damaging it. The mud aside, the other people and the type of obstacles would have presented some problems. He finished his course in an hour.
I have no experience so no suggestion about a bolus after.
Have fun!