Lexi is Lying about BS!

Good afternoon all. I am a 30 year old step mom to 4 sisters! One of them is 8 year old Alexis and at the age of 5 she was diagnosed w/Type 1.

She has always been great about testing, her school nurse helped out a lot with that!

Now it is summer. She is still good at testing when we tell her, the problem is she has been lying. Last week she said it was 40, we quickly got up grabbed some orange juice and a candy bar, dad double checked the meter, it was 412!!!!! We had her write sentences, and explained the risks of what she was doing to herself, and that if it had been someone w/little to no experience it could have ended BAD!

Well, then she did it again, only this time at her aunt and uncle's house!

I need help in explaining to her how dangerous this is. No one yells or gets frustrated when her bs is high. We don't make it an issue. We read the meter, and then tell her what to dial her pen to.

I am new to diabetes. I have only been step mom for 2.5 years. So any advise will be greatly appreciated!

May I ask a few questions? Did she say it was at 40 when it was actually 412? Is it possible she needs glasses? Is she forbidden from having OJ or candy bars generally?

That's a very scary situation. I am sure you'll get some great advice here from T1 moms and dads.

I can understand how much distress you must be in. And more particularly as a step mom. Congratulations. You mean you are a step mom of 5 girls?? How do you do it???

It must be really hard to have a new daughter with such a big incredible awful disease!

Alexis is only 8 - does she really see the difference with 412 or maybe what she thought was 41.2?? Could be a problem? Do you really think at 8 years old she is trying to lie about her BS??? And why?

It sounds like you are doing great. I admire the help you can give to this young girl! Good luck! Be confident in her/