MDI then pump and then back to MDI

Anyone here ever return to MDI after being on a pump?

Are you happy you went back to MDI?

Hi Karen, my son 10, has been almost 5 years on the pump and we started the untethered regimen in February (75% in lantus and 25% of basal with the pump), and since last week he wanted a pump vacation and don't know for how long. We use the i-port (injection port like an infusion set but for shots) for the rapid insulin injections and lantus directly in his skin. He said that he really loves i-ports. For now, he doesn't want to go back on the pump. We have to say that the pump is with a tube, I don't know if he would be on the omnipod if he would feel differently or not. The thing that bothers him are the number of tests he has to do when on the pump. I am sure he is enjoying the fact that the pump is not around his waist... The thing is that the pump's accessories are covered 100% and not i-ports.

I have been pumping for almost 13 years and enjoy it. It wasn't always that way, when I first started, it was 1999 and my husband was sick. I found it confusing trying to take care of him and learning something new, I stayed on the pump maybe a month and had to stop. When my husband returned to work near the end of that year I returned to the pump in 2000. I tell you this because sometimes you think you're ready for a change and it's not the right time but later it might work out.

I was diagnosed 1.5 yrs ago and have gone from MDI to pump an then back to MDI. My pump was good for when I used it, but I just didn’t like the tubing. Also, my insulin needs are very low right now and I’m constantly in the pool this summer, so it was an easy transition back to MDI. I like the fact that I can switch back to the pump if things change. But I may check out the Omnipod later down the road.

Amy