Mean people, what to do about them?

Had a horrible experience over the weekend in which a parent of a child my daughter dances with accused me of making “too big of a deal” about diabetes, “using my iPhone to calculate carbs” "and " drawing too much attention " to my daughter by my presence with her at events… My kid had endured three months of teasing at school (by his kid) for eating indian food at lunch (she also has celiac and can’t eat any school lunch) a strange twist iOS that he is a doctor, family practice, the head of a hospital and a supposed pillar if our community… Has anyone experienced negative feedback by others when your child’s chronic illness draws attention? I know this guy is a manipulative moronic narcissist, and his kid is following his example, but how do you deal with people like that? It was a terribly demeaning experience, I am also a physician, wish I had audiotaped it for all y’all to listen…

How to deal with people like that? Don't. I'm not the best at one line comebacks, but how about, "...And how I raise my child is your business because...?" or, "Gee. I thought close control of blood glucose levels was the key to avoiding dialysis and blindness down the road for my child - Did I misread the research?" or, "My dad taught me the best way to stop a bully is to break his nose...."(fist twitching) God. Where do you live? If it's near me I'll break his nose FOR you. How about "SHUT UP!!!!"

No parent wants to draw attention to the disease, at home or out in public. But even when done discreatly, people see, and comments or questions follow- well meaning or otherwise. But the fact is that safety always comes first. I don't have a bunch of advice for you, wish I could tell you to just punch him in the face! lol But this quote comes to mind....

"A mother's love for her child is like nothing else in the world. It knows no law, no pity, it dares all things, and crushes down remorselessly all that stands in its path."
~Agatha Christie