Medtronic MiniMed Paradigm (CGM Question)

So I got approval this morning for a new insulin pump from my insurance after 4 months of use of another one. I am switching from the Animas Ping to the MiniMed Paradigm. My main reason for wanting to switch was due to the fact that I want better control of my blood sugars and will do that be adding the CGM to my pump therapy. I didn't want two separate devices, so I decided to go with the integrated system from Medtronic.

So I from my previous post, you can see I do understand that CGM does not replace the need for standard blood glucose testing, but it gives the bigger picture to as what maybe going on with glucose in your body at different times of the day. This gives you and the doctor a better idea of what changes need to be changed to your current therapy. How have you managed your diabetes better with A CGM than without a CGM?

I've been using the Dexcom CGM for going on 4 years. My A1c hasn't dropped dramatically in that time but it has remained pretty stable. I definitely think using the CGM has helped with that since it lets you stay on top of your BG at all times. I haven't been a day without it for the past 3 years or so, no breaks at all.

I got my first dex when it was new, and I only used it to figure out my basal rates and when I was going to be sleeping alone for a night or 2 for trips etc.

Now that insurance covers most of the cost, I wear one all the time.
I chose the MM for the same reason you did. I also got my dex wet and it was ruined. They told me I was out of luck so I was a little annoyed, but I wanted just the one thing to carry anyway.

My a1c used to hang around 6.9 or 7% pretty much always because I let my sugars go high at night to avoid lows.

Now I keep a much tighter control and I have my CGM to wake me in case I go low, so i don't worry about it so much anymore.

My latest A1c was 5.8% and I'm quite happy with that. I really do not have any reason to want it lower either.