Minimed CGM Settings Advice Sought

I recently received my new Minimed Revel CGM to compliment the 722 pump I've been using for the last 5 months. I've read through the literature that came with it and have an appointment with my outstanding CDE to get it up and running.

In order to ask intelligent questions during our session, I'd like to hear about the experiences of current users. Particularly what are your tips and tricks to make it as useful as possible. More specifically, what settings have been most useful to you, and why? I've read all about irritation with alarms - errant, unnoticed or annoying. After you got used to it, how did you set it up to integrate it into your lifestyle?

FWIW, I used the Dex when it first came out, but insurance considerations have mandated my change to the Medtronic system.

Thanks to all who contribute!

-Tom

First you want to know about where they recomend you place the device(I use inner thigh), what you can cover it with (I use tagaderm), how long can you use it (6 days), how long to “wet” the device (20 mins), when and how often to calibrate (this is key) (I use before exercise, meal or bed when my BG is stable and hopefully in range), etc.

Then I think you need to determine is where you want your upper and lower limits set. IMO you need to have an aggressive upper limit. I started with mine at 200 and have worked it down to 135. An upper limit of 135 lets me know when I am trending up to limit my amount of time that I am too high.

My low limit is set at 81. I reached this number after playing with the settings for a little bit. I had the low limit at 80, but found that I was often alerted to a low when I was 60-66. I raised the CGM low limit to 81 and have found I am othen alerted at 66-72. The problem is I tend to drop quickly when I am low and I have raised the low limit to compensate for the lag in the device.