New Kid on the Blog!

Mmmmm … cyber world! How I cannot live without you :slight_smile:

I will be linking my blogs from here to my original journal at http://jerissasays.blogspot.com (or you can just click under the link to “Jerissa Says” on the left hand side of my profile page).

But, let’s not jump forward too fast, as I have yet to introduce myself to my new found community.

I am a bubbly, young professional experiencing life to the fullest in the Windy City. I have a wonderful husband, and of course, our little puppy named Rokket who love me for me and have been there through thick and thin.

I’m new to the realm of diabetes (and of course, tudiabetes.org), so I hope to gain some friends and support as I live and breathe with it.

…It’s a big deal … being diagnosed with this disease, and I just did not realize how so many people are affected with it…

I recall the first time I encountered it. I was in 5th grade at a Catholic grade school, and there was a girl (a grade lower than myself), that was in the restroom. She was by herself, huddled in front of one white porcelin sink. I remember what she looked like too – she had short medium brown hair with red, tear-streaked brown eyes. She was staring at what looked like a thick calculator. I approached her and asked if she was ok. She burst into more tears and pointed at the number on the meter. I felt sorry for her and did not understand what the significance the number played. As she sobbed and hiccupped, I tried to comfort her and did not ask questions.

Days would pass by at school, and I would look for her, but she never returned.

I never really thought about that girl again, until the night I was diagnosed.

I was recently diagnosed with diabetes on October 25, 2009. Originally, I went to the ER because of a different ailment, but was admitted because of my glucose levels. When the ER doctor explained why I was being admitted, I remember the tremors of shock going through me.

“I can’t believe this!”