New Pumper & need some help pls with infusion sets :s

I have been pumping since July 2009. I have an issue with my infusion sites.
I currently use the quick-set 9mm for my paradigm/Minimed 722 pump.

After about a day or two the site becomes sometimes painful & sometimes too painful, and in both cases this is making me so nervous & not feeling comfortable. when I remove my set there is a hard “bump” beneath my skin. It usually takes about a week to ten days to completely vanish.
Also the insulin burns or more like stings like crazy while going in on a bolus. It seems to occur no matter where my site is placed.

I thought it is all about a scar issue but No! because i am really using different sites (abdomen) specially that i am newly diagnosed as type 1 diabetic.
And btw my blood glucose is very well controlled so this means i have no problems with insulin delivery or absorption at all.

I am about 176cm & 72kg (look at my pic: not too thin, i do have some skin & some fat in & around my abdomen only but that’s enough!) and as i already said I am using the quick-set 9mm for my paradigm pump.

My question is: can i use the quick-set 6mm? could it be the solution? sometimes i am always feeling the cannula or even some pain in the infusion set (even in day 1 or 2).

Btw i have no other choices. Minimed only provide Quick-set 6mm or 9mm in my country (lebanon).

So in my case, should i try the 6mm cannula?

Thanks for the advice.

Shad
6978-n610425351_3296031_109.jpg (25.4 KB)

What insulin are you using? What you described sounds exactly like my reaction to Novolog and Humalog… it’s not related to the type of set, I’ve used them all and it’s the insulin.

Hey sarah,

I have been using Humalog for 2 years now (by taking shots) and had no problems at all (sometimes some burning but nothing serious at all) and since july 2009 i have been pumping using Humalog too. I donno but i don’t think my problem is related to the insulin type.

Hello Mark,