Novolog - how long until it begins to work

I'm still relatively new at this T1-like diabetes, and I know one of the things I should check is how long it takes for the Novolog to start working, so I can inject it the optimal amount of time before I start eating. So I took a dose of Novolog (2.5 units) that I needed to correct a high BG, and started testing, every 5 minutes. The instructions I read somewhere said "test until the BG goes down 10 mg/dL." Well, I tested every 5 minutes for quite a while, during which time the reading was the same - give or take a few notches up and down. Until 50 minutes later - whammo - it went down 25 mg/dL! Is this normal? Should I try it again? And what does it teach me - how long before I eat should I take the insulin shot? Thanks!

I have done this too. When I need to bring a bg down just say from 9mmols to 6mmols, it often sits there for a while and then maybe half an hour later I crash. Lots of people here will be able to explain why this happens. With me it can be anything from the exercise I've done, where I inject, what I ate at my last meal.

Here's a graph showing the action times of various insulins. It's not guaranteed. When I got my pump either the doc or the SalesNurse mentioned that NPH has only a 53% chance of peaking when it's supposed to so you can get all sorts of interesting combinations with that!

it generally starts peaking in 30 min. I doubt that checking your blood every 5 min is really worth while. It wont change that much in 5 min. I think checking every 15 is more likely and I wouldn't even bother for myself for 30 min because I know how my body works.

I usually bolus 30 min before I eat and it usually works nicely. The trouble with trying to correct high sugar after you have eaten is that the insulin you already took probably has not had time to finish its work, and if you add to it, your sugar can plummet at some point.