OK..Everyone please read!

OK…I want everyone’s opinion. So, I went to the endo today for my 3 month checkup and the nurse comes in and tests my blood sugar with her handy little meter and it was 89!!! Hooray!!!..But, I was thinking something as I was driving home. Since I am a paramedic, I focus alot on patient safety and infection control as we deal with alot of blood and body fluids. Well that got me thinking. Do you think your doctor cleans the meter between patients??? Or atleast the lancet device??? I know there has been cases in hospitals of HBV transmission bewteen patients from glucose meters.

Personaly, I won’t let them use the lancet device on me. I ask to stick my own finger with the lancet. Do you guys ever worry about this stuff??? Hmm??

Wow never thought about that

You can always aske them to change it in front of you or for you to use your own. We have our son use his own lancer

when minw does do it–they insert a new lancet in fronmt of me–very few and far between as I always take my lof book–last time was when I had a skin infection…they checked BG and keytones in office cause it had been 2 hours since I had…

my endo has single lancet devices…so i know it’s only been used on me. i see them throw it out…

I know the lancet is single use!!! But I means what about the lancet holder???

my endocrinologist has these pressure lancets that have the device and the lancet in one - once the patient is done, they toss it.

although this is true, those lancet devices always give me bruises. I pull out my multiclix device and do it for them. :slight_smile:

My old endo would change the lancet right in front of me to do the blood test. My current one asks me to do the test on my meter with my equipment. I’ve never really thought about the issue, but it is a potential concern if the dr is being careless. I don’t think it matters about whether the meter gets cleaned.