Omnipod 5: I'm tired of waiting for you

I’ve finally done it. I’ve placed my order for the T:Slim 2.

I’ve been using Omnipod for 5 years now (switching from Eros to Dash) and the tubeless patch has kept me hooked even as hybrid closed loop tech opened up around me. I kept biding my time, hoping the approval would come but the date keeps getting pushed further and further away.

DIY looping has never been an option for me as I don’t own any Apple products, and I lost my old Medtronic pump long ago. When Basal IQ came out, Omnipod Horizon was supposedly just around the corner. Then Control IQ came out, and covid hit causing further delays.

I’m tired of waiting, Omnipod.

I’m hoping that having your pods distributed via pharmacies means that it won’t impact my ability to return to omnipod 5 once it’s released, effectively using the t-slim 2 as a bridge until the omnipod system is released. But I’ve just decided I can’t wait for you anymore. I’ve gone too many years now without the health benefits of hybrid closed loop, and it’s just time.

3 Likes

You used it for 5 years, and then you switch a few months before their hybrid loop version get released?

Yes.

So you’ll be able to enjoy the benefits of a new pump and if the Omnipod 5 finally surprises you and comes on the scene, you can get set up with it. I guess you’ll be limited by your insurance coverage in that it will only pay for one stream of supplies. Seems rational to me.

What tipped me over the edge is that two nights in a row I was awakened by pretty bad hypoglycemia. The first night that hypo set my BG on a rollercoaster ride the entire next day. And then it happened again the next night

I’m just tired of dealing with this when there’s been a viable option out there for what, two years now?

It doesn’t help that the Omnipod Dash interface is frustratingly inefficient, requiring double the necessary button presses, sword and taps to deliver a bolus. Don’t get me started…