Omnipod and Bleeding

I’ve been using the Omnipod for about 10 months now and recently I’ve noticed a phenomenon that has worried me. Lately, during intense exersize, I’ve noticed a tendency for blood to come out from where the canula is inserted. So far its only happened on my stomach, though many other sites (arms and legs), will end up giving occlutions. Sometimes the blood spills out around the canula, but within the contained area under the pod. Other times I’ve noticed it in the canula post pod removal. In both cases, not changing the pod immediately (and instead waiting for the 3 days to be up) results in asmall dark purple bruise in the area where the canula was inserted.

Basically I’m wondering if anyone else has experienced the same problem, and whether its something to be concerned about, if its a health issure (worried about infection), and if anyone has any suggested solutions.

Thanks =)

Smurph -

I have noticed the same thing, especially when I get my pulse up (exercise). The 'blue dot" after a change as well…I have shown it to my endo, who (as I have pointed out in many past posts) absolutely HATES the Omnipod, and has made multiple suggestions to switch to one of the more traditional “tubed” pumps…but I have yet to take the plunge. She doesnt seem all that concerned about the bleeding and bruising, so i just assume its no big deal! She has said “if you dont feel comfortable with it, just switch!”