Omnipod Ext Warranty?

Hi I received an email offering an extended warranty for my Omnipod Pdm. Is this something that people do? I guess my warranty is up in December of this year. They replaced the Pdm last year so the device itself is fairly new.

I am not aware of how the insurance works if it were to just die on me, I know for certain I would never break or mishandle it, so is this extended warranty just piece of mind for some that may have an accident and break it? If anyone could please give me some insight.

I have been using the omnipod since 2013/14 and I wear a Dexcom G5. Never have had any real issues so I have never done any real detective work on device failures. Thanks

Unless plans have changed, they will release a new Android phone-based PDM later this year. I don’t know how your warranty situation would affect your option of going to the new PDM, but I’d check it out. The new PDM will not have a built-in meter, but it will interface with the Dexcom, hopefully in ways that will be extremely helpful and result in better control.

I also heard that the new PDM will talk Bluetooth to a Contour Next One meter so even though you need to carry two devices, they should work together.

1 Like

Oh wow I guess I should start reading once in awhile. I don’t know how I feel about having to carry another meter but I’m sure my insurance will be happy. They rake me over the coals every month on Freestyle strips. I don’t know why they cost so much but with my insurance they do.