OmniPod questions

I’ve been diabetic for 19 years and am finally thinking about using a pump. I’ve done quite a bit of reading and am interested in either the OmniPod or Ping. I LOVE the idea of the OmniPod, but have a few questions. I’ve read about alarms that you’re unable to silence. When do the alarms go off and is it the pod alarming or the PDM? I’m a nurse and don’t want to be in a patient’s room and be interrupted by an alarm. Is there a way to silence all alarms or set them to vibrate? The other thing that concerns me is what seems to be a pretty high pod failure rate. Do you have to carry extra pods and insulin with you at all times in case this happens? From what I have read, it seems like the Ping is very reliable, but the freedom that the OmniPod offers is a wonderful concept. I’d love to hear your thoughts! :slight_smile:

I haven’t had many problems with the OmniPod although others will differ with me. Unfortunately there’s no “vibrate”. I work as a consultant and see many clients every day and never had a problem with the alarm going off except when it alerts me that it’s time to change my pod. The pod itself is on you and you carry the PDM in a case which also contains insulin, test strips, etc. I always have the PDM within 50 feet but seeing as you work in a hospital you may want to keep it in a jacket pocket. The case is just about the size of a large wallet and the PDM has all the controls. The pod stays on your body for three days and you can set the time you want to change it so it doesn’t interfere with your working hours. I happen to LOVE my Omnipod but I haven’t tried any other pumps. I don’t think I could tolerate tubes but if I were you I’d investigate both very carefully. It was a no-brainer for me. Good Luck.

Oops, Janet! I meant to reply to you, but instead posted above you. Excuse me, I’m new to the forum. :slight_smile: