Potential Pumper

Hey guys. I am a potential pumper, and I’ve been reading about some of the other insulin pumps, but I am leaning towards the Omni Pod. I have a question about the alerts the pods give off. I work in the criminal justice field, and I am in court rooms quite often. My concern is the pod going off while I’m in court. Is the alert sound very loud & noticeable? Does the pod have a vibrate function? I just would hate to have unwanted attention on me while sitting in a court room. Thanks for the feedback.

I have not had an occlusion or pod failure in a year so have no experience to share there. I often let my pod go as long as possible over the expiration point…they will last 8 more hours as long as you have insulin left, and have known to expect beeping every so often. If you know you are going to be in a work situation, you would just not extend the pod use. As Nate says, you can set the timing for the reminder alerts, as well. The reminder alerts do not seem overly loud to me. I have slept through them…my husband calls it “chirping.” In public, it has not been an issue as everyone is hooked up to some sort of technology these days. I know to carry my PDM with me if I am due for a pod change or am expecting a “low” (insulin) reminder and address it at first beep. Of course, technological interruptions are frowned on, I am sure, in the court room. By anticipating those times, you should be OK. Nate’s advice to try out a trial pod is a good one.

Hey, Chauncey. It’s great that you’re considering the OmniPod. I’ve had mine 1.5 years and LOVE it!

Like you, I was very concerned about beeping in public. As others have said, you can change some of the settings so that the alarms won’t go off while you’re on the job, you can’t silence the darn thing. No matter what, if there’s an occlusion or some other problem, the pod can start beeping with no warning.