Alarm?

Hi there,

I’ve been on the Minimed 508 for +10 years and am really interested in switching to the OmniPod. Everything I read about it from your discussions and experiences sounds good to me, but I’m worried about the alarm system. Is it true that there is no “vibrate” alarm? How often do you experience alarms? If there is a pod malfunction is it usually when you put a new pod on? In other words, can you “predict” the alarms? the reason I ask is that I’m a musician and if the pod would alarm with sound when I’m playing a concert or in a recording session, people would probably not hire me again. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me!

Yes, there is currently no vibrate functionality to the pod.

You are correct in thinking that there is somewhat of a predictability to the alarms (although as many others would probably agree, this is not always the case). Just like an occlusion alarm w/ a MM system which could alert “out of nowhere”, occasionally there are tell-tale signs such as pain at the insertion site during bolus delivery, blood in the canula, the past success rates of that particular site location w/ regard to alarms, etc, which are all helpful clues that an alarm might be more likely than at other times.