Omnipod Update - 4 months in

I’ve been using the Omnipod since February 2015 and I can now update my experience here. This is my first time pumping (I started Dexcom about 8 months prior) and all I can say is - where have you been all my life?! I was lucky to get the Omnipod 100% covered by my insurance (my CGM as well) so my decision for the Omnipod was easy. I really didn’t want tubing because I knew I would get depressed wearing the tube and the pump and I didn’t want to set myself up for failure. Conversely, should I not be able to pay for the Omnipod someday, I will be more apt to get a tubed pump I love pumping so much!

I never have had any problems with the Pods or the PDM and hearing what other people go through I realize I am lucky. No issues with my CGM either. No bad Pods (knock on wood) so far.

After much adjustment and bickering with my CDE, I took control of my settings and am doing really well. I find the freedom and the ease with which to give myself insulin has changed my life. I was always lazy about my shots and testing. Now I’m right on top of everything.

This could be the honeymoon phase but I’m loving it!

2 Likes

Hi Linney, I’m glad you’re doing so well with the omnipod, sounds great! I started on a pump(tandem t slim) in January and while things are by no means perfect( I still have the same old bg craziness, random patterns and never knowing what will happen for sure), it is easier to deal with in a lot of ways on the pump. I am constantly changing basal rates which I couldn’t do at all on mdi and I like not having to constantly inject myself. Mine has tubing of course, which I don’t like but which I can live with. I think if I had a separate pdm to control the pump I would probably be forgetting/losing/misplacing it a lot. I would like to try a tubeless pump at some point.