Omnipods Dash PDM- Poor battery life?

Has anyone here experienced poor battery life with the Omnipod Dash PDM?

I’ve been using it now for just a few months, and it seems the battery sometimes will drain from 70 to 30% within a couple of hours.

Call me a luddite but I miss the months-long battery life of my old RF-based PDM.

I remember when the T-Slim touted their rechargeable battery as a feature. It was not for me.

4 Likes

I plug mine in every night and have only had that problem once. Found out it wasn’t actually plugged in. I didn’t have the plug in the PDM all the way.

Just received my Dash today. Ugh — not thrilled about having to charge it every single day and add another charging cable to my nightstand to go along with my wireless charger, lighting charger and Apple Watch charger. Boo.

Has anyone found a replacement battery for this thing that has a higher capacity than 1300, which is pretty weak?

1 Like

My dash PDM was going down to 35% battery daily with what I would call light usage. This was with nightly charging. I turned WiFi off and now I can go 4 to 5 days without a charge. Only downside I can think of is not being notified about updates. Maybe I’ll connect WiFI every week or so.

2 Likes

I don’t use Omnipod but I do use a Tandem pump. I love the recharge aspect and have never had a problem.
But I have cords in the car so I charge when I drive. I have a cord by my recliner so I charge when I am on the computer, watching tv or reading. I have a cord in the bathroom so I charge when I shower. I just have cords everywhere so charging is always available.I also have one in my cord carrier that also has a portal charger in my tote bag if ever needed. Sometimes I do charge at work.