Overcoming Food Dislikes

My parents never served Lamb, and the only times I had it growing up were on infrequent visits to houses of relatives. When served to me, it was poorly prepared, strangely flavored and at stressful times, a recipe for disaster in getting a child to like a food. But, there were other foods that I disliked growing up as well. I actually would only eat ground meats until I was well into my 20s. And I hated fish. So I overcame many of my dislikes, even as an adult. But, my wife had similar experiences with Lamb and as such, we have suffered a Lamb-free diet for all many years.

So last night, we made our first steps towards overcoming our aversion to Lamb. I purchased two beautiful lamb chops. They only cost $3.72. Since I basically have reverted to a nearly zero carb diet, meat is critically important and cheap meat helps. I am a good cook, even if I say so myself. So I prepared them carefully, rubbing them with salt, pepper, rosemary and garlic. I seared them at very high heat on both sides and then finished them to perfection in a low temperature oven.

As we sat across from each other. We told each other that it was prepared perfectly and that even though it tasted bad, it was really good. I hope that with repeatedly serving it, telling ourselves that it is good, that we will learn to like it. Lamb is after all plentifull, cheap and healthy.

What foods do you hate? Have you been successful learning to like a new food? How did you overcome your aversion? Did you use Ketchup? Is such an effort to overcome dislikes unnatural? If not, then why don't more people eat foods like these (http://www.tripbase.com/articles/weirdfoods/).

hmmm
don’t eat broccoli or the white sprouted stuff, i like it cooked and covered in cheese
i stay away from carrots, i will eat them but i’d rather have them covered in brown sugar
I will not be eating pig snout ever
no shark, it tasted weird
no lima beans, ew ew ew
Mochi is a acquired taste…