Prediabetic on metformin

Hi I am prediabetic and I am just leaving the DPPOS (diabetes prevention program outcomes study). I am still taking metformin and my A1C has been around 5.7.

My goal is to lose 50 lbs this year but I’m struggling. I had to switch my job. I am now a truck driver so I’m not exercising as much. I can control food because I prep food and can make simple healthy meals on board in microwave or my rice cooker.

Exercising is very difficult. Walking I can do but probably not enough to make a difference.

Any ideas from other truckers?

If it helps I am a woman so although I can walk I do have some Avery concerns recalling on my own at truck stops.

Thanks

Good luck with your weight loss goals. It’s not easy but the effort is essential to making it happen.

I encourage you to edit the title of your post so that you completely spell out “metformin.” This will enable the TuD search utility to find your post in the future and will help others who are concerned with the same issue as you. Just click on the pencil icon to the right of the title to allow the title edit.

Done.
Thanks Terry.

1 Like

If getting exercise is a safety concern then diet is really all you can do to control weight, but have you tried looking up exercises you can do in a small space that you could maybe adapt to your rig?

Another idea I would suggest is getting a guard dog such as a German Shepherd. I personally would not be willing do do a job like yours without the security a good protective dog would give me.

Firenza,

Thanks for the reply. I do have a small dog and I walk him about 5-10 mins at a clip depending on how my delivery schedule is going.