Pump, injections & sex

Hi

Today is my first day on a pump (Animas 20/20). Live in UK so pump users thin on the ground for positive feedback. Have been told sugars may not improve great deal but interested in freedom aspect. I have read on forum peoples greater freedom on pumps but my first feeling is opposite as am now attached full time. Do you forget you are attached in time, am interested in longer term users feedback.
Also looking for reassurance that as a young (ish) guy still able to enjoy the company of women that it has little or no affect as a passion killer…wasnt brave enough to ask nurse today! Thanks, Chris

Congratulations on the pump. I have been pumping for about 13 years now, and am waiting for my new Animas Ping to be shipped (back ordered) any time now. I would say you definitely will forget you are “connected,” but give it sometime. You will find how you best like to wear it, sleep with it, etc. Everyone has their own preference.

As for passion, that shouldn’t be a problem either:) I have been married to my hubby for 20 years now, and no spark went out due to the pump. I’m assuming you’re single from your comment above? I would just be upfront. You might find you prefer to disconnect your pump for the time. You can give yourself a bolus before or after, to cover the basal you miss.

Hey Chris,
I wanted to suggest that you join the Diabetes and Sexuality (Men) group, where this topic would be right on target.

Thanks,

Good luck with the pump. I’m not on one now but when I was it was never a “passion killer”. I would usually just disconnect it before those romantic times. No problem really although sometimes the infusion set can be a little scratchy on your partner (same problem with Dexcom sensors). The biggest passion killer I have found is having low blood sugar.

Chris,