Restart when battery needs charging

I am new to the Dex and I want to go beyond the 7 days. My problem is that I forgot to charge my battery last night and it is down to 2 bars. Can I just turn off the sensor and charge the battery for 3 hours then start again?

You can charge the battery anytime. There are no restrictions.

Restart of the sensor is completely unconnected to the battery charging. They have nothing to do with each other.

The battery only needs to be recharged when it is down to 1 flashing bar. 2 bars is fine.

To get the sensor to go beyond 7 days, all you have to do is "stop sensor" (or let it expire), and then "start sensor". After the 2 hour startup period, the sensor will be active again.

If it starts reading really crazy, then you may have to replace it... I usually get at least 14 days out of them. Some people have gotten 21 or more.

So, is it OK to turn the sensor off for 3 hours and then start it again?

Yes.

And you can recharge it without turning the sensor off too.

Thanks for the info. I thought that the battery needed to be fully charged when you start a new sensor. As I said I am new to this and following the book!

Dexcom's website says under Helpful Hints:
"Charge your battery before each Sensor insertion."
I have never done that. I don't know where this is coming from.
I charge the battery when it is convenient if I see less than 3 bars.

Thanks. I am a little nervous about this so, I think I am just going to turn the sensor off, charge the battery and turn the sensor back on. I hope this works. :0

Yeah - we definitely don't do that. I had no idea it said that.