Restarting Sensors

Hi Everyone,

New guy question here. I’m on my first ever sensor, and I keep hearing about everyone restarting after the 7 days and keeping the same sensor to save supplies and get better/more accurate readings. Could someone please run down a little checklist of how to restart with the best results and not lose data? Do I need to stop the session early, or leave it run until the end? Do I actually take the transmitter out and then put it back in? Etc.

Thanks so much for your help. I’m so super pumped that I’m finally getting to see the CGMS data!

Cheers,

Brett

Hi Brett.
I have been using my CGM for about 3-4 months now and love it.
For my first few sensors I replaced them at day 7, as I became more comfortable with the idea of extending their life, I have begun to do so.
I have seen posts with methods of not loosing data, I find it easier to forgo this 2 hours of readings.
Here is what I do, this works for me, your results may vary:
Day 7 as the sensor counts down, it will stop reading and say "change sensor now"
I do NOT remove my sensor, but rather simply “start sensor”.
In 2 hours, enter your two BG readings and you are back on track.
it is only 2 hours out of the entire week,
I have mine “scheduled” to expire on Sunday late mornings.
Usually on day 7, I apply medical tape to the edges of where the sensor adhesive meets my skin. I find this helps it stick longer.
I have yet to go longer than 14 days, but may try to do so at some point.
Good luck and enjoy the obsessive viewing of the graphs!