Study about the Documents Used with Diabetes Electronic Records Systems

I’m an Assistant Professor in technical and medical communication at the University of Cincinnati. I’m working on a research study that involves examining electronic texts, such as electronic patient reminder letters and test results letters, associated with electronic health records and disease registry systems.

I’m interested in interviewing people who have received such texts via email or regular mail to learn about your thoughts about and experiences with these documents.

The interviews will be audio recorded and will take approximately 1 hour at a time convenient for you.

I’ll be using a computer-based call software called Skype which you can download for free. To participate you will need to be logged in to Skype at the time of our meeting and accept the call. Your computer will need audio and a mic to fully participate. One week before the meeting time I’ll information about creating a Skype account and contact you via email to get your Skype contact information. At the agreed upon time I’ll place a call for the interview.

The final product of the study will be a paper I’ll be writing for publication in a scholarly journal. If the study is presented or published, I will not use any names. A transcription of any audio would be used for any presentation or publication rather than the actual audio.

Participating in this research is strictly on a volunteer basis. Participants must be 18 years or older, have diabetes, and have participated in a diabetes registry system. You will be compensated for your time with a gift certificate of $10 from Amazon.com.

It is not expected that you will be exposed to any risk by being in this research study. Participants can skip any question and quit the study at any time.