Sugar free tablet

My father loves chocolates and sweets. But now he is under sugar treatment. He never drinks tea without sugar. So we started using sugar-free tablets in the tea/coffee that we give him. But recently, I came across an article on diet for sugar patients. In that article I saw a point highlighting the negative impacts of using sugar-free tablets. So what do you all think? Are sugar- free tablet good or bad?

Depends on who you askā€¦ There are many who feel that there are metabolic problems caused by most of the artificial sweeteners, such as aspartame, sucralose, sacchyrine, etc.There are many who feel that they are safe in moderate quantities. I have been avoiding them for the last 7-8 months, in part as an ā€˜experimentā€™ to see if that makes much of a difference for me, but also because, though I miss diet soda, I otherwise find I donā€™t really need them.

There are a few ā€œsugar-freeā€ sweeteners that are considered ā€œsafeā€ by most professionals. These are Stevia, Monk fruit extract, and erythritol. The first two are sweet plant extracts that have no impact on blood glucose for most people, the latter is a sugar alcohol they most people do well with. Some people find that Stevia has a bitter aftertaste, but the only way to know that is to try it. BE careful with Stevia products - many of them are packaged as a mixture of sugar and stevia ā€“ read the labels!

There is an argument that sugar actually affects your brain by giving you pleasure. And that is why we crave sweet things. So changing to a sugar-free sweeteners can still feed that craving essentially feeding the addiction without the bad effect on blood sugars. Maybe that alone is not a bad thing, but the cravings are really about carbohydrates. So my feeling is that feeding a strong addiction runs the risk of you craving things with carbs even if the technically donā€™t contain sugar.