Switching from a pump to Afreeza and long acting insulin

I am thinking of switching from a pump to a daily shot of a long acting insulin for my basal and using Afreeza for my meal bolus. I generally bolus for about 2.5 units of insulin for each meal which according the estimates I’ve seen would be 4 units of Afreeza. Is anyone else using Afreeza for their bolus insulin? Anyone with any experience with Afreeza you’d like to share? Thanks.

I used for awhile when they had discounted price for those with insurance that didn’t cover it.

I used for meals, mostly 4 unit was similar to 2-2.5 units novolog. But for meals with higher fat, I would also do extended bolus from pump. So you may want to still have injected insulin on hand to cover some meals, in addition to afrezza or plan additional Afrezza dose after meal.

Currently I do most bolus from Tandem X2 pump, and Afrezza only for correcting high BGs.

I think @sam19 and @Terry4 are still using.

I’ve been using Afrezza for five years now. I primarily use it for corrections most every day. I use the 4-unit cartridges and I find it equivalent to 2 units of Apidra.

I recently found out that my Medicare Part D Rx plan no longer covers Afrezza but I did find an option to buy it for $99 for a box of 90 doses. It still requires a prescription but no insurance is involved. I’ve not done this yet but will when my supply gets low. Using Afrezza improves my glucose management and I would not want to live without it.

Thanks for link. I used that option a couple years ago, thought it ended. I stocked up and almost out of my supply so will check it out again.

@MM1 and @Terry4 Thanks for the feedback. I was/am hoping to simplify my life by eliminating the pump but maybe its too much to ask if you’re T1. I was wondering about those meals that go a bit over what the 4 unit dose would cover, and even those that are smaller. Go for a long walk maybe.