Switching from Minimed to Omnipod

Hi everyone! I just found this group and joined yesterday. I’ve been using Minimed pumps for about 12 years now, and just switched to the Omnipod this week.

Since switching over, I have had a ton of low BGs, and have had to drop my basals and my carb ratios several times. My total daily dose was about 34-35 units/day on the Paradigm, and yesterday I took 27 units and still had several lows. Did any of you have your insulin sensitivity go way up when you switched to Omnipod? Could this be due to changing to a different site? I’ve used my hips for the infusion sets for about the last 7 years, but I put the Pod on my arm. I wonder if I have scar tissue built up on my hips from overuse that could be interfering with absorption?

Anyway, thanks for any advice you might have. I haven’t yet browsed the archives for info, but would love to have ideas for where to put the pod. I’m a small-ish person, and I find that the pod is pretty conspicuous on my arm. I don’t think I can use my belly- that stopped working for me after I had kids. Does anyone use their back? Is there a good place to put it on the legs?

Thanks!
Gillian

The OmniPod was/is my first pump so I cannot answer your first inquiry. I rotate from my stomach to my side and lower back (just over the buttocks). The lower back is by far my favorite site.

I didn’t notice any drastic drop (that I remember) when I switched from the MM to the pod. But I also don’t know that I was looking for one either :slight_smile: I would say you’re likely on the right track in thinking it could be related to the new site (no scar tissue, great absorption, etc).

As far as where to put it, I use my arms and my lower back (flank area over the kidneys, so to speak). I’ve tried it on my legs, but my thighs are too muscular for great absorption…I had some pain there too when the canula hit muscle.