T-Slim or T-Flex and Occlusion Alert

I’ve been using a T:Flex for about 2 months now with Novolog. In the last week, I’ve received 2 occlusion alarms. Last night after I cleared the alarm and changed my infusion site, my BG was over 400 and it has been a bear to get it down today. Wondering if anyone else has had this issue?

I only use MM pumps but if your concern is that Novolog is involved in that issue, it shouldn’t be. I’ve used Novolog for years, as well as Humalog. If you are using a cannula-type set, I URGE you to switch to a steel needle type. Unomedical makes sets for luer-lock systems, as well as making them for MM, which are called Sure-T’s, which I use exclusively. They ARE comfortable. Many people have it in their head that steel needle sets might be uncomfortable. It really depends on the person., I can’t stand cannula sets, which I wore for far too many years before being turned on to Sure-T’s. They stopped my no-delivery issues.

I use cannula type sets. I think I’ve had 2 occlusions in the past year, and it was all due to the tubing. I first try changing out just the tubing, and inspect the tubing for little white spots or spaces that could be due to kinking, folding, or some other damage, like the tubing getting into my clip.

(knock on wood) in the past 4 years since I switched to Accu-chek Ultraflex sets, I have had no kinked cannulas, which usually didn’t set off an occlusion alarm for me anyway, just high bgs.

1 Like

I seem to have occlusions almost exclusively during sleep time. I was told this could be because of a combination of lying on the infusion site, immobility and a build-up of insulin around the cannula. The advice was to try just gently massaging the infusion location and seeing if that clears it. That has worked for me. Worth trying before having to haul yourself out of bed in the dark and going through a site change, anyway!