Tape allergy/sensitivity

I have been using pump for 25 years and sensor for 10+ years. Recently (within the last several years) started having issues with the tape supplied for 670g Gaurdian sensor. Would get horrible red, raised itchy, exact outline of the tape on my skin. Sometimes would extend outward from the application site. So bad sometimes had to use topical steroids to clear it up. I can’t use Medtronic supplied tape, period. Wondering if others have had the same or similar problem (with pump site or sensor) and what they have done. I will get skin irritation time to time from the infusion site but nothing like with the sensor. Current solution is to place tegaderm tape down first, place sensor through tegaderm then secure with white medipore tape. Thoughts… and thank you.

I don’t use any Medtronic tech but for allergies I use Flonase (nasal spray) and spray it on the site and allow it to dry before proceeding with my insertion as normal.

2 Likes

I also use Flonase.
My allergies to adhesive wax and wane.
When it’s bad I can still manage.
I put a drop of neosporin where I want to put my set.
Then I cover it with iv3000 tape.
Then I poke through the iv3000 aim for the spot of neosporin underneath.
The neosporin does double duty. It’s thick and blocks the adhesive from working down the cannula. It also prevents bacteria from getting in and irritating the site.

It works great for me. However first find out if you are allergic to it.
I get the iv3000 from my insurance. It comes 100 to a box and I can get them every quarter but twice a year is good enough.

You can do the same with the sensors however don’t use neosporin because it will mess with the sensor wire.

I first had a rash from plastic tape when donating blood. I would insist on paper tape because it didn’t cause the problem. I assumed because I am allergic to horses that was the problem. They did use horse collagen for glue manufacturer, but is uncommon so I doubt that was it.