The Legacy of Katie DiSimone

Many of you may have heard the news this past week about a true trail blazer in the DIY Looping community. Katie DiSimone one of the original DIY Loopers, and developer of the LoopDocs and advocate for DIY has been diagnosed with a very aggressive form of Brain Cancer.

Many of you have asked me over the past 6 years. How can I help? I’m asking you now! for your donations to help a truly incredible woman who changed so many lives (including mine).

Please Donate to a Go Fund Me Setup for Katie and her family

We love you Katie. Be strong, Be brave, Be loved.

Jeremy Lucas
Founder GetrileyLink.org

9 Likes

Thanks for the link @mohe0001. I’ve sent a donation. May God bless Katie and her family/friends. :frowning: so so sad.

3 Likes

As many of you know, I’ve been using the DIY Loop setup for almost five years. It has enabled me to consistently and sustainably increase my time in range, lower my time hypo, lower my glucose variability and lower my average glucose. And it has done all this while asking less of me. It’s been a huge quality of life boost.

My entrance to the DIY Loop world was made possible by a mentor who is a part of this community. I will be forever grateful for his generous gift to me, an otherwise stranger. I learned first-hand about the We Are Not Waiting movement’s commitment to pay-it-forward as a way to express gratitude to whoever directly helps you.

During the many phone calls and Skype conversations with my mentor, he mentioned about a mom of a T1D who was getting phenomenal results for a teenage daughter using DIY Loop. This is the first time I heard about Katie DiSimone.

As it turns out, Katie was so thrilled with the results she was getting for her daughter that she decided to pay it forward in a variety of ways. She ended up the primary author of LoopDocs, a set of step-by-step instructions that even non-technical people could successfully follow.