The new Libre 3 versus 2

I’ve been using Libre 2 for most of 2022 and finally got my insurance to cover the new 3. I was excited about the new 3 (1) being so much smaller and (2) working without having to physically scan my phone or scanner to the sensor. I’m just over a day now on my first sensor. I’ll update this post after more use but there are some cons so far. Unlike the 2 where you can walk away from you phone, you phone can die, etc where you can just scan it and it works, this will just stop working if you don’t keep your phone next to you at all times. It will come “back to life” after awhile but still working on how long it actually takes. It has also just stopped working a few times for no reason. With the 2, if my phone died, I still had the Libre Scanner that I could use. Anybody else having issues/cons with with moving from 2 to 3?

2 Likes

Will watch your post with interest. I’m hoping the 3 will soon come to Canada.

1 Like

Libre 3 is awesome. Accurate in the low ranges and high compared to guardian or Dexcom most of the time. It is also smaller than anything on the market and updates every miniute. Unfortunately it is not integrated to any pumps yet but coming. It can easily alarm your phone or watch. No separate scanner required!

3 Likes

So interested to join this discussion of yours as I have used the Libre 2 for about 8 sensors so far, out of which only one has failed and they did replace it when I reported it.

So how are you liking it now that you have used it for a while longer?

Have you discovered that they only allow either a reader or a phone to be connected, but not both at the same time. That does make it really problematical if you do misplace a device for reading it as it will mean it is not possible to use it.