Tidepool Loop, one year in: A development update

Tidepool is a nonprofit organization that is developing an automated insulin dosing algorithm that it intends to submit for FDA approval and integrate with commercially available and compatible insulin pumps and CGMs. Medtronic, Insulet and Dexcom are all working with Tidepool to integrate some of their products. Tidepool’s Loop base computer code is the do-it-yourself open-source Loop system that I’ve been using since November 2016.

Tidepool Loop, once it is FDA-approved and deployed, will work with certain in-warranty pumps and CGMs. This designation will pave the way for full doctor and insurance payer support. No date yet for expected deployment but thought this update from Christopher Snider, community manager, provides some important detail.

Tidepool Loop, one year in: A development update

9 Likes

From the link:

“We’re building out our online prescription process and platform, so healthcare providers will be able to enter Tidepool Loop settings in-clinic during an appointment.”

Hopefully this doesn’t mean settings are control only by the hcp.

1 Like

I think what this means is that Tidepool is anticipating the needs of the doctors and will provide education for the doctors to enhance the care they give to the average patient.

The patients’ needs do run across an entire spectrum and some of us do not need much help with changing settings. I would bristle at any clinician who tried to control my system settings. I’ve made it very clear to my providers that I need little, if any, glucose management help. They seem to understand that and the charts I bring to each visit back up my beliefs with hard data.

6 Likes

Hi. Tidepool Community Manager here.