Trainers

I had been working with a trainer for 5-6 yrs. He was not a CDE but had enough knowledge of diabetes to make me feel safe. He is gone but I still have hours paid in advance for sessions. I am with another trainer but it is obvious she is not experienced with working with diabetics. And there are not any other trainers in this outfit that I feel comfortable at all with.
So I guess my question is, does anyone here use trainers and how do you handle explaining your needs as a diabetic athlete? And no I do not allow any trainers to give me diabetic advise. I am in charge of the diabetes.
Chris

I just tell them I have it. I've never had a personal trainer per se but studied Tae Kwon Do and had some challenges, running BG up before class and crashing during that motivated me to get a pump. I told them about my having diabetes but pretty much crashed through it and only had problems a couple of times, although it was a lot of work to stay on top of it as, for a couple of years, I was going 6x/ week. I didn't mind explaining as I figured if something really hairy happened, I'd want them to know. I also taught classes for a brief period before we had to move and was very careful while I was doing that.

Then I ran, first by myself and then, when I decided to try a marathon, with a group and I told them and people asked "what do we do if you pass out" so I'd explain where my sugar was, etc. but nothing like that happened. We did out and backs and I'd stop to test at the turn and it was no big deal.