Treating reactive hypoglycemia

Since I’ve been having a bit of reactive hypoglycemia - luckily, nothing terrible, but dropping into the mid-60s - I was wondering if anyone knew of a way of treating reactive hypoglycemia other than the eliminate all sugar/keep physical activity constant/don’t drink diet modification. I’m getting married in a few weeks and, at this point, wouldn’t eat the wedding cake because I don’t want my bride to have to peel me off the floor! (to say nothing of the dancing and the toasts . . . recipe for disaster much?)

Thanks in advance!

– Dov

I need to stress at this point that I am not an expert, and that my recommendations are best used for a day or two (around wedding time) and not for life. Also, these are meant for Dov only, not regular Type 1’s.

Some things you could try:

1. Letting your BG run high and not taking insulin (after all, you will dance the cake high off)
  2. Eating small amounts very often, instead of large meals
  3. Metformin. It works like a charm, and I didn’t drop below 3.9 (70.2) when I was taking it - unless I accidentally took insulin and then worked out. Actually, I’m kinda mystified why it’s not prescribed for Type 1’s with hypo unawareness or regular hypos.

Hi Dov,