Using the abdomen as the insulin injection site

Hi! My name is Sandy Blue and am a type 2 diabetic. Can anyone tell me if the stomach changes shape when the abdomen is used as the site for insulin injections?

I am no expert - but I have never heard of this one, and I inject in the belly all of the time and no shape changes here. You do have to avoid injecting in the same sites frequently - rotate sites - or you can get lipodystrophy - or scar tissue and get bumps.

Yeah, you can get lumps of scar tissue if you don’t rotate sites. I’m a lean guy and, over the years, I picked up a couple of lumps of scar tissue that are noticeable to me because I look at my abdomen quite a bit for injections. When I ask other people if they are noticeable, most say no unless they sit there and stare…

Forgive me, but your response made me laugh. I can just imagine myself sitting there looking at my stomach… :slight_smile:

Thanks for the info.

Although my weight has stayed the same, within a few pounds, it seems my stomach has taken on a life of its own. Thanks so much for your response.

I have been injecting for over 32 years in my stomach several times a day I am also lean and i do have some scar tissue.
I also look at my stomach all the time…

It seems that my injection sites tend to thicken even though I’m trying to rotate them. Perhaps you should number and date them in indelible ink. (lol)

The only change I’ve noticed is that I have this huge and ugly spare tire around my abdomen ever since I began injecting insulin…but that could just be due to the insulin itself and not due to the site. I’ve trying to get rid of the fat by running/biking/aerobics but I keep failing miserably and the spare tire keeps getting bigger and bigger! :frowning: