Wait for training to start on the pods?

I FINALLY have the pods coming in this afternoon after almost a month of different delays. My diabetes educator has been calling and rescheduling appointments for the past three weeks, but now that the pods are finally here, she can't see me until next week. I have been doing MDI for 5 years and I am very comfortable with insulin calculations and technology in general. It is tempting to start on the pods now, and just ask any follow up questions I have at the training session. What do you guys think? Was your training session critical to understanding how to use the Omnipod system?

I've been on the POD just over a year, diabetic for over 30, and I would not attept this on my own. Pumping ,although to me much easier, is a different beast to tame. There are numerous variables that are required to be set properly in order for the machine to be "tuned" to your body. If they are set incorrectly, they could lead to dire consiquences. Plus each diferent manufacturer may use different parameters, calcularions, and settings that work differently between machine makes as well - not a good idea.

Nope, if it were me, and as tempting as it may be, I would not attempt this without being fully trained by someone who understands the device intimately.

I'm pretty sure I could parachute from a plane without training but i don't think i'd try that without a bit of training either.

Just my two cents, and good luck on the POD. I love the thing and it's made life much easier.

Rob

Thanks Rob. Not what I was hoping to hear, but I appreciate the honesty! :)

I wouldn't try it without going through the training. Figuring out how to program and use the PDM or put on a pod is not a problem at all. The calculations used to determine basal rates, etc, was the problem for me.