What affects fasting blood glucose?

I am curious. Does what you do (like exercise/activity) and eat the previous day affect your fasting reading the next morning? What affects fasting more, what your bedtime reading was or what your overall day was like? Am I making any sense?

I’m also wondering why the fasting number is so important?

(Even though I’m not technically new to diabetes, I am feeling like I am since I’m paying more attn to it now.)

Fasting BG is really important if your are pumping insulin or using long acting insulin as a basal. Basal rates are set for and vary throughout the day and if they are set correctly your fasting BG numbers should not go up or down and should remain relatively flat. If you exercise a lot the day before there is a very good chance that your fasting numbers will be lower. Typically when you check your fasting numbers you are only going to watch them for 4-6 hours after that you need to eat or you will probably go low.

Fasting BG numbers are important because if your basal rate is too high then your BG will drop throughout the testing period. If your basal rate is too low then your BG numbers are going to go up. I like my fasting BG to be around 85-90 but I have my basal rates set a bit high on purpose to keep my BG low like that.

Dave

Sweeter-

What affects fasting blood sugar? Let’s see. When I exercise my fasting is about 70-80. When I eat a snack before bed and bolus for it, my blood sugar is about 100-105.
When Aunt Dottie (girl thing) visit’s fasting bg’s are slighty elevated.

The dawn phenomenon can cause high fasting blood sugars.

If I eat something too heavy with fats for dinner, my morning fasting numbers aren’t where they should be. Or, if I eat too close to going to bed.

Exercise usually effects me for about 3-4 hours. First high & then low.