What kind of a job do you have and does it suit your diabetes?

Is it hard for you to keep track of your bloodsugar and eating at proper times while working at the same time?

I am a teacher, and have been very fortunate. My administration has been very supportive and do whatever they can to make sure my needs are being met. I am fortunate to stay so busy at work, that I really don’t have time to snack. I have made time to eat my small snacks between meals, but that’s usually between classes, so even then, I don’t have a lot of time. One thing that I can say about my job is, my bosses have made it easy for those of us with special needs. When they create the master schedule, they do everything in their power to make sure the schedule gives us time to test, eat, and even sit down and rest for a few minutes. I can’t speak for all educators, but I am very fortunate and I thank my lucky stars nightly!!!

Renee,
Please be encouraged. Even people with type 1 diabetes on insulin pumps may be police officers. Tell your son to work hard on getting good blood sugar control and he can do and be anything he wants. It just takes a little extra preparation and work.

I am a registered nurse and started working 12 hour shifts. It was difficult but my co workers were always very concerned and accommodating to whatever my needs are. No I am the inpatient diabetes educator at the hospital known by all the staff and pretty much set my own schedule. I really thank God for using my diabetes to be able to help others.

No, it isn’t a problem at all…I’m a fitness trainer and exercise coach who works mostly with people who have diabetes. So when my clients run a test during a workout, I test as well. And even among my clients who don’t have diabetes, they’re all still very accepting, if I need to test and treat a low or high blood sugar.