Why do I feel more comfortable with 96 than 76?

I'm pretty new at this and I feel like I'm going it alone -- with the help of you guys out there, but without a doctor or professional who is helping me. So -- question of the day:
What BG should I be aiming for? I try to follow Dr. Bernstein's low carb approach and I know he believe in a BG of 83. But whenever I'm near that, I get kind of panicky. Not that I physically don't feel good - I'm just afraid that it will suddenly plop down to a very low number (which happened to me once or twice) - and I eat more than I need to. This is of course especially true at night, but even just now (afternoon, where I am), I measured 76 (with some IOB) and ate 1/2 a roll instead of just a small glucose pill which I could have easily done to bring me up to the 80's.
Now I'm at 96, and probably rising. And I feel so stupid. Anyone?

My only advice, is that we are all stupid compared to Dr. B because so few of us (none of us?) have A1C's in the 4's and like he does (apparently without hypos!)

Don't feel bad about a 96!!! Not ever!!! I know that clueless docs and medical personnel have tried to make me feel bad about 186 (when I was so sick with the flu I was puking every hour) or 146 or 126. But they will never get me to feel bad about a 96!!!!

I think it's the ever present concern about hypos that makes me feel a little antsy about 76. For me there's this uncontrollable urge to "fix it" based on the fear that maybe in a few minutes it'll be 66 or 56 or 46.