Winter is coming... and I'm COLD

(I hope someone caught the GoT reference... ANYWAY)

So recently, I've been having this intolerance to the cold. It finally became fall in Savannah, GA after being between 80f-100f for the last five months, but it's only been 60f in the last few days and I'm freezing cold. I'm wondering if there's a connection between diabetes and cold intolerance, and if there is, if it's normal?
I read YahooAnswers on this, and all of them say "IT'S NEUROPATHY! YOUR FOOT'S COMING OFF!" and that scares me to death. I'm a relatively healthy person with T1DM, and my latest a1c was 6.3 ... I don't know. It's coming up on my first complete year with having diabetes, and I'm still new to everything.

I have been Type 1 for fifty years and have always been cold. I am currently sitting in the living room wearing a heavy sweat shirt, heat is on, there is a space heater in the kitchen (to help dry some new spackling on a kitchen remodel,) and my gas fireplace is on. It is 44 outside and my hands are like ice cubes. Always been like that. No neuropathy.

My mom was a Type two and she was the same. I am not sure if it is inherited for me or the diabetes.

I hope it's just due to what sounds like an abrupt drop in the temperature. Have you lost weight recently? I was always freezing last winter prior to my diagnosis in early March, but I think it was because I was losing a lot of weight.

Love the GoT reference- halfway into the second book and that is my world, lately!

I would definitely have your thyroid checked as being cold can be a symptom of hypothyroidism which is fairly common in type 1's.