1 month into T2 diagnosis - struggling with meter numbers

I am new to T2, on Metforim 500mg 2x/day. Have increased my exercise and watch everything that I eat. Have reduced my initial BS from 350 to the 150's. I have read the blogs and have been eating to my meter. During the weekends, I am active and my before eating numbers have been in the 120's and after eating 140-150. My first thing in the morning numbers are in the 150-160 range even though I eat a healthy snack (veggies & a little hummus) before bed. However, during the week when working my morning numbers are in the 170's and after eating lunch have been in the 200's. When I started the Metforim I took one at 6am and one at 6pm. Then I read that high morning numbers can be a result of taking the Metforim too early in the evening so I started taking them at 11pm and 11am with my snacks.

I am very frustrated that I am eating per the meal plan for carbs designed for me by the diabetes educator and watching what I am eating to see if something isn't working well with me causing higher numbers. My numbers are good on the weekends but the week days are a mess. My exercise habits are basically the same during the week as the weekends, with the exception of household chores, laundry, etc. I know that I have only been at this one month, but I feel like I am doing something wrong. Am I just being too crazy and causing myself more stress? Any thoughts would be most helpful.

"Eating to your meter" and eating per the meal plan designed by the diabetes educator may conflict. I have a few thoughts. Your weekend numbers don't look that bad. Have you tried skipping the bedtime snack to see the effect on your morning numbers? Does Metformin require it be taken with food?