Advice one touch verio IQ

Background: I have used pump & meters since 1986. I currently test 8-10 times a day. I am neutral about brands of meters but I am not interested in CGMs. I have been using the verio for ~3 years. Over the last 6 months I have had very unreliable results. Today it took 9 strips to get 2 tests. I have had a test read 40 and since I have a strong adrenaline response, I knew that it was not right. 2 immediate retests (within 3 min) read 152 & 156. My meter was replaced early June for erratic readings.

I am ready to switch brands. What do you recommend. :woman_shrugging::vulcan_salute:

The Diabetes Technology Society ran tests on 18 home blood glucose monitoring systems. Only six meters passed all their tests. Check out the results they published in June 2017.

1 Like

I was surprised to read that the Contour Next Link meter I was given with my Medtronic pump was among the most accurate ones out there. It’s small, rechargeable and has a USB connector built in, so you can carry a simple USB charger that you could use to plug in your smart phone OR meter.

1 Like

I will check out the contour meters. We all worry about accuracy but the number of failures of the test strips is dishearting. With a limitation on the number of strips excessive test failures erodes my confidence in the brand.

Does anyone have experence with failed tests using Contour strips? Thanks :+1:

There are usually two reasons the test fails.

1. Putting blood on the strip before the meter asks for it.

2. Not getting enough blood on the strip.

The first usually happens when I’m tired.

1. The meter almost always asks you for more blood and you have five seconds to get it on the strip. Very rarely it will tell me (right after the 5 seconds it takes to do a reading) that I didn’t get enough blood on the strip with no chance to put more on.

Those are the only two types of strip failures I’ve encountered.