Carb Counting and Weight Watchers

Does anyone have any thoughts/advice/experience with making Weight Watchers program work with counting carbs? I am new to both and am not sure how to make them both work.

It’s tough to make them work together…I tried for a year, and couldn’t make it happen for me. But that’s not to say it can’t for you. I had to decide points or carbs. I went to the carbs because they are listed on the sides of packages I buy at the store, I didn’t have to figure them out with the slide rule; I could find somethings in books for carbs, and some sites had foods listed, but it was easier when putting meals together, like casseroles which we eat many of, to go carbs rather than points. I still went to meetings, I still weighed in, and participated in the discussions. THAT part of WW was wonderful for me and helped me to lose 60 lbs and counting. But don’t drive yourself nuts, pick one, and then stick to it…much easier.

I went to WW about 4 years ago, and I left the meeting in tears! Being on a pump, which requires me to count carbs before eating and dosing, the thought of counting points, too, just threw me into a fit. I felt like I was going to have to do calculus every time I ate! I decided to give it another chance and went to another meeting, where I was told about the “basic” program, which apparently was just that…very basic food plan and no points, but not very helpful if you’re having trouble sticking to the same boring foods for every meal. That and the fact that everyone, and I mean EVERYONE in the two meetings I attended were all hyped on this point system, so I didn’t feel much support, plus all the tips people were exchanging involved recipes and meals that were based on points.

On the other hand, I do have a couple of friends who were borderline, and went to WW and lost enough weight to keep from having to go on medication.