Considering a new pump.. which to choose?

I’ve been using a minimed 522 for the past three years, but it recently stopped working (it said button error, I called medtronic and they shipped me a new one) but I have been considering getting a different company’s pump when i hit the 4 year mark. i’m considering switching to animas because its waterproof and has a meter-remote. however, the omnipod looks like it could be a good candidate, but i’ve heard a lot of bad reviews on it. anyone on a pump, what do you think of yours? should i stay with minimed, or should i switch? Thanks

i’m currently on the omnipod and about to make the switch to a ping. while i absolutely love the tubeless freedom of the omnipod, my work’s portion of the insurance coverage changed, so my portion of the payments doubled. the start-up cost for the omnipod is cheaper, but over time the costs really do add up. for a traditional pump, the monthly supplies are a LOT cheaper.

i had a few issues with the omnipod a few months ago, and i think it was due to a bad batch. pods kept erroring out for no apparent reason. the company advises not to extract the insulin from a bum pod, but i did it if the error was during priming. there were a few times where blood was backed up in the cannula so i avoided extracting that pod’s insulin-- not sure if the insulin was contaminated and i would rather not take the risk.