Data Management Software for Diabetics

Hello dearest Community!

I am a student at the Technical University of Vienna (Austria) and have a friend, who suffers from diabetes. We are about to write our bachelor thesis and since he has told me that the software, which comes along with glucose measuring devices is mostly not what he needs, hard to understand and not at all intuitive, we decided to develop our own tool in order to help other people that feel the same way. If the project is completed successfully and the community shows us that there really is a need of a better new tool, we are going to work on it on and on.

To give you a short overview of the system, I will only say, that it is going to have 3 variants, one for patients, one for doctors and one for the researchers community. It is going to be build as a plugin-framework, so basically all needed functionality can be added or removed on demand. What is more, it will be a open-source software, so it will be delivered for free and it would be possible to alter it so that it can satisfy your own needs.
Therefore, I would like you to do some brief comments on the topic. Any comment, idea (what should the tool do), criticism or example of another (good or not so good) tool will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much for your time and help.
See/Hear you soon!
Peter

http://www.nesfield.co.uk/diabeteslogbookx/ is a fantastic bit of mac software for logging, but I’d really like an iPhone or iPod Touch app that plugs into it and syncs data between the two…

Hi Peter! There are some programs available. I don’t understand all the computer jargon so perhaps you want to develop something more… what is really missing is GOOD programs that can download data from our blood sugar meters or insulin pumps. It takes a lot of time to enter all your blood sugar data by hand!!

For info about programs out there, see these links:
SugarStats
Log for Life

Also here is a link that lists more.