Dexcom CGM versus Integrated Medtronic System

I’m a new type 1 diagnosed 6 months ago at age 49. I have been using the Dexcom CGM and for the most part I’ve been happy. I have now qualified for the Medtronic Pump and they are recommending the “integrated” CGM. I’m trying to find out if anyone has used this latest generation of CGM and if you like it.

Everyone seems to love the Dexcom but I was hoping the integrated system would be a tad easier/less things to drag around. I’m a newbie so I don’t know anything other than the Dexcom at this point. I’m definitely getting the Medtronic Pump. The question is really on the CGM…Dexcom vs integrated Medtronic. Any insight is appreciated. Thanks!

I have a friend who used it and was 100% satisfied, but I am not a pumper myself so consider that second hand info.

1 Like

I used to think that an integrated system was something I wanted. My first CGMS was with Medtronic. I liked the pump, but had a horrible experience with the SofSensors. I tried to get them to work for almost 2-1/2 years and switched to Dexcom and never looked back. But Medtronic does a good job of integrating the sensors into the “system” software.

The Enlite sensors are better than the Sofsensors, but I have never seen a study that indicates they are as accurate as Dexcom. Anecdotally I know many people who did a trial with Enlite and thought they were awful. Although no CGM technology is perfect, IMO Dexcom is easier to use, has a longer sensor life, and is more accurate. I wouldn’t give that up to move to the Medtronic system. The next generation of Dexcom sensors will have a new inserter and be even more accurate than this generation.