Dexcom cutting out during showers

Hello , I am 15 years old and my dexcom is bland new its the g4 platinum and when I take a shower no matter how old the site, it’ll cut out for about an hour and its starting to freak me out a bit bc my blood sugars are going high rn , any advice would be helpful , thank you

Hi. It may be that water is getting trapped bt the sensor and the transmitter and you are missing readings until it dries out. Have you tried to remove the transmitter (without removing the sensor from your body of course) drying it off and putting it back in the sensor?

I have not , it literally JUST cae back on, next time I shower I’ll try that. Thank you so much

1 Like

Good luck! I hope it’s as simple as that!

My only experience of the Dexcom is by reading what other people say about it … in other words I have no personal experience.

I remember reading a post from someone who had problems which apparently arose because the transmitter was not properly seated in the sensor. I may be remembering this wrong but I think at the time folks said there were supposed to be “two clicks” when the transmitter was attached. Apparently this person was only engaging the retainer on one side of the transmitter not both sides.

If the transmitter is not seated properly then water can get in between the transmitter and the sensor connectors and cause things to be wonky.

Probably not relevant, but figured it wouldn’t hurt to mention.

1 Like

If you take showers in a room where steam accumulates, I suggest leaving the receiver in the next closest room. I leave mine on the bed and am about 10 ft away in bathroom for shower and it still reads fine during shower. Mine actually reads much further away than that, however.